Innovation and Unlearning

I have been an innovative learner and thinker this semester by stepping out of my comfort box.  As I said in my first blog post, I am not a huge technology person.  Do I wish I knew more? Sure, who doesn’t, but I think that I have come a long ways.  I realize I still have a long way to go but I the key is to keep learning.  It is important to me to continue being a lifelong learner.

Innovation in learning to me is applying the best procedures to help students meet their potential.  It is how you work to meet those goals and how you teach those skills.  I had not thought much about how I would use technology in a classroom other than playing educational games and using a Smart or Promethean Board.  This class and my classmates have opened my eyes to a lot of fun creative ways to use technology in the classroom. From the reading the most important concept I took away was Couros’s “The Mindset of an Innovator”  “I am an innovative educator and I will continue to ask, “what is best for learners?”.  I feel it will be important to ask myself that even when I get comfortable teaching.  We need to challenge our notions and question our goals so that we keep moving forward.

As far as unlearning, what I have learned is that we must put antiquated notions of what teaching is behind us and move forward.  This includes technology.  Technology is always changing and educators and students alike need to change with it.  Quoting, Richardson’s “The Unlearning Curve”, “There is no curriculum for unlearning, and, of course, in many ways it’s simply learning to see things differently or to at least be open to it.”  The one unlearning concept that I found the most interesting, is that we all learn at our own pace.  I knew this, having worked in a school system, but it is a nice reminder.  I wish that more educators would unlearn this concept.

After taking this class I hope that I can grow at unlearning and being an innovator.  I have a lot of work to do and a long way to go, but I have nothing but time to do that in.  I hope that I can continue to find new, fun, and creative approaches to teaching kids.  This class has sure opened my eyes in that direction.

Leave a Reply

