Internet Mindfulness

I can’t even imagine being plugged in like Paul Miller was. How lonely life would be if you were always on the internet and not having real interactions. The internet has some valuable uses, yet I can see how people could get sucked in, especially if it was your job. It is so important to find that balance.

I know that I don’t use the internet in a mindful way all of the time. I have the bad habit of playing games or checking in on my social site. Before this class started all I had was Facebook and my Email. I will be the first to admit that when this class is over I hope never to get on some of the sites we’ve used for this class again.   When I was working full time and only going to school part time I didn’t use the internet as much as I do now as a full time student. I use it for class, research, news, and my social media. I also moved across the state and Facebook is how I keep in touch with friends.

If I was told tomorrow that I would have to stop Facebook and my email I wouldn’t be too hurt. I do have to use my email account for communication with my ex-husband, so I couldn’t just quit it. However, all the rest could just go away and I’d be alright. I might miss some of the communication I have with friends on Facebook, but I guess we would call each other more, or as they say what you don’t know won’t hurt you.

As far as my news intake goes, I could read the paper or watch the news more on television. The one thing I like about the internet and getting my news there is the choice to choose what I read about or watch. I don’t have commercials and I don’t have to see the same news story over and over.

Having said all of this I am fairly mindful I would say. I can put down any and all of my devices at any time. I know people who are attached to their phones and devices so that they don’t miss out on anything and they are missing out on the people right in front of them.   I know that I will never be that way and hope that more people realize what a mind suck these devices can be.

Leave a Reply

