Fine Tuning My PLN

Fine tuning my PLN.  I liked a lot of the information the article we had to read covered. 

Who to read and why.  Just because you decide to follow someone doesn’t mean that you are stuck with them.  If the person or persons you are following isn’t giving you what interests you or teaches you anything then you can drop them.  It’s not as if you are face to face with anyone or going to hurt anyone’s feelings.  Or you may be lucky and because of who you are following you may find someone new to follow.  I’m okay with not following a lot of people.  I believe it is best to have a few who contribute, rather than a lot of nonsense. 

Some of the finer points of Howard Rheingold http://bit.ly/1zKZBzy are as follows:

  1. Being polite and not being sarcastic is one that strikes a chord with me.  I have a hard time reading constant negativity and sarcasm.  There is a time and place for this and I don’t want to read about it.  If your blog is about this then fine but don’t be a “Debby Downer.”
  2. Feed the people information that might be useful or you see that they are interested in.  I find this one particularly helpful, because I would hope that people who follow me might lead me to something helpful.
  3. Asking useful questions.  I sometimes feel that in a classroom setting you answer or reply to questions just because you were told to.  In the case of building your PLN you get the chance to engage in some great, useful information.  I also like the idea of remembering that this is through technology and the human factor is missing.  This makes me think that it is even more important to be honest and kind when we write and post information.

All in all I think that it is important to use the tools given to us through technology in a useful way.  It may take me some time to find what is useful and further fine tune it, but I can see the importance and usefulness of the PLN.

One thought on “Fine Tuning My PLN

  1. I really relate to your point about constant negativity. I have definitely unfollowed people on Twitter who are simply too negative. I do want to know what’s going on in the world and what the key education issues are, and often that’s not necessarily something super positive, but I also don’t want to feel hopeless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

