Stitches in Time

So I took a small step away from my quilt this week.  This is not to say I didn’t work on it, I did, just did one of my other sewing passions.  I love to do wool applique as well as quilting.  My daughter saw on Pinterest a little fox and thought that it was adorable.  I took a break from cutting all of the squares and triangle of my quilt out to do a little applique.

I think one reason I like to do applique is because it generally has a more immediate gratification.  The projects are generally smaller, but not always, and it doesn’t take near as long to finish.

I started this project by looking at the picture of the little fox.  My daughter and I went to my many boxes of wool to find just the right colors.  I am blessed with many boxes of wool.  If anyone has ever purchased wool for applique they know that it can be very expensive.  I once bought a piece of hand dyed wool which cost 16 cents a square inch, trust me that adds up in a hurry.  Anyway, I was given two large totes full of wool from one of my mother’s friends when she moved.  My daughter and I found just the right colors and moved on to the next step.

Generally when I make a wool applique project I start with a pattern.  I have made a few patterns for small projects if I couldn’t find what I was looking for, so that is what I did here.  I drew the whole thing out on a piece of paper and then cut out the different pieces.  I made sure everything fit together and then put the pattern pieces on the wool to be cut out.

After cutting out the pieces I then chose matching floss and began stitching the little fox together.  The fox turned out really cute and my daughter loved it.   She named her Lizzy.

20150202_122014

2 thoughts on “Stitches in Time

Leave a Reply

