Stitches In Time

The first quilt I ever made was kind of pitiful.  I used fabric from sheets that I found at the store that I liked.  I didn’t check all of the content of the fabric and it was not 100% cotton.  I have since learned that it is important to have fabric that is 100% cotton.  I wasn’t sure how to back it, I was low on funds and used a blanket as filler.  The filler was light pink but I thought it would be ok.  I was wrong the more I used the quilt the more you can see a light pink through some of the lighter fabric.  I would like to think that I have come a long way since then, but there is always room for improvement and more to learn.

The first step of starting my new quilt is to be sure and read all of the directions carefully.  I have checked my fabric to make sure all of the yardages are there and that they are all correct.  The next step is squaring up my fabric. Squaring up the fabric ensures that all of the cuts that I make with the rotary cutter and ruler will make nice straight and square cuts. If you don’t square up your fabric later on when you are cutting out your squares they will not fit together correctly.  Precise measurements are very important.  This is another thing I’ve learned since my early attempts at quilting.

I am really liking this new pattern and the fabrics that are with it.  The turquoise, lime green, and browns go together really well and are fun and popular right now.  Having cut out this fabric it has been fun choosing which colors I want for each block and choosing which ones will be places in each area.  I am looking forward to starting to sew this quilt together and see the outcome.

2 thoughts on “Stitches In Time

  1. I have projects that turn out horribly wrong, good news we learn (maybe faster) by the physical reminder of said project 🙂 I am excited for you to complete this project! Can’t wait to see it!

    Like

    • Hopefully it all comes together or at least I have a great start before the semester is up. I am a full time student and a full time single mom, so we will see what I get finished.

      Like

Leave a Reply

