TED Talk – Dan Pink: The puzzle of motivation

I chose Dan Pink: The puzzle of motivation, as my TED talk this week

. The reason I chose this talk was for two reasons. One, I have two children, one of them is a teen ager who I would like to be more motivated. The second reason for choosing this TED talk was because I am studying motivation in another one of my classes.

What did I learn from this talk? Well, we as people, are going about motivation all wrong. The overwhelming amount of research and data which has been done on the subject is astronomical, yet we choose to ignore it for the most part.

Intrinsic rewards beats out extrinsic almost every time. In a few cases extrinsic beat out intrinsic. An example of this is when there is a reward/punishment scenario. They say it dulls thinking and blocks creativity. This rather amazed me. I have seen many people almost bate children with rewards to get them to do what they want them to do. I believe this has led to children believing that they deserve a reward for everything they do, rather than doing it for the sake of doing it.

Dan Pink touched on the three aspects of intrinsic motivation which are the most important. The first was autonomy. Autonomy is the will to be in control of our own actions. By taking control of what we want to do and learn has led to some great discoveries. Some of the examples of businesses that have succeeded in using autonomy based motivation were, Wikipedia, Google, and Gmail. Mastery is the desire to get better at what we are doing. And lastly, he touched on purpose, this is the yearning to do better for the larger picture, not just for ourselves.

After watching this video I can see how important it is to get students and my own children to see the big picture. It is so important for doing a job well done just for the sake of doing a job well done. I have always told them that a job isn’t worth doing unless it is worth doing right. I have always strived to live by this and hope that I have instilled this in them.

Leave a Reply

